Curriculum, Assessment and Promotion

1.  Good Samaritan School follows CBSE curriculum and prescribes CBSE/NCERT based text books.

2. Classes I to V have four core subjects, VI to VIII have five core subjects and IX and X have five core subjects with 6th optional subject.

3. Classes I to VIII students are prepared for school conducted examinations.

4. Classes IX and X students are prepared for the school conducted Central Board of Secondary Education guided Examinations.

5. Evaluation of performance of students from Class I to X through the non-threatening Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation of Scholastic and Co-scholastic achievements is to enhance critical thinking and hands on project based learning rather than promoting exclusive rote memory.

6. Class XII students are prepared for the Central Board of Secondary Education conducted external examination.

7. For Classes XI and XII the school offers three streams: Science, Commerce and Arts (Humanities). Options are provided for Part II. There is opportunity to take Mathematics or Biology or Mathematics and Biology.

8. The academic year has two Terms. April to September form I Term and October to March form II Term. Students are assessed continuously for both terms.

9. Evaluation is of two types: (FA) Formative Assessment is based on regular work, projects and activities given to the students and (SA) Summative Assessment is based on the End term tests. Co-Scholastic Areas are assessed in two parts; (2A) Life Skills and (2B) Attitudes and Values. The assessment is expressed through performance indicators.

10. Three Formative Assessments are done for 10 marks each for each term. Out of the three, two best marks are taken. For each term students get 20 marks for two Formative Assessments.

11. Summative Assessment for I Term is for 20 marks and for II Term is for 40 marks.

12. Students are given 40 marks for First Term: 20 for FA and 20 for SA and 60 marks for Second Term: 20 for FA and 40 for SA.

13. Out of the 100 marks given for the year, students are expected to get 40 marks each in all five subjects for promotion to the next class.

14. Grades are given, and not marks in the Continuous & Comprehensive Assessment Card (Report Card), as suggested by CBSE.

15. Nine point grading scale for Scholastic achievements:

Marks Range  Grade Grade Point 
91-100 A1 10
81-90 A2 9
71-80 B1 8
61-70 B2 7
51-60 C1 6
41-60 C2 5
33-40 D 4
21-32 E1  
00-20 E2  

16. A student who uses unfair means during a test will be given zero marks for that subject. Repetition of the same will result in stern action Attendance for tests and submission of project works are compulsory and final results are declared on the cumulative marks/ grades obtained throughout the year.

17. On the days when Tests are held, attendance for the full day is essential. Students will NOT be permitted to take the Test and return home. If the child is unwell he/she should stay at home. Parents should send their child only if he/she can stay in school for the full day or else he/she will not be permitted to take the Test.

18. Special arrangements cannot be made for pupils who for any reason whatsoever are absent from the main examination or any part of it. Pupils, who are absent from any exams for whatever reason, will be awarded zero marks for that particular exam.

19. All fees due are to be paid before the commencement of the tests/exams.

20. A late fine will be charged for students who pay the fees after the due date every month.

21. A student who has not cleared the fees dues will not be allowed to sit for the exam neither will he be given a test after the due date.